- How To Reach
- What To See
- What’s new
- Where To Stay
Churches and architecture
Built in the 17th century, damaged and rebuilt a number of times. The first church near Krustpils castle was built by Baron Nikolai Korff - a devout Lutheran. The coat of arms of Korffs can be found above the entrance in a church. It still serves as a Lutheran church after several centuries. In 1999 the church received the blue flag of the European Cultural Heritage.
The church is unique for its location as it is the only church in Jēkabpils that rises so high above a city. It was opened in 2004. It is the first Catholic church on the right bank of Daugava river because during the centuries of reign of the house of Korffs only Lutheran sacral buildings were favoured.
The church was built in the second part of the 19th century in Byzantine style. Its five domes have become a landmark of the city panorama. The Saint Nicholas The Miracle-worker’s church unique with its small size of only 17 by 19.5 meters is located in the monastery courtyard. The icon of Virgin Mary of Jacobstadt was returned to the church in 2008 and now attracts a great number of pilgrims every year.
Stone church was built in Byzantine style in honour of Saint Nicolaus, consecrated in 1910. After World War One, walls were all that remained from the church. It has experienced a revival after World War Two.
The Baptist congregation was formed after the great city fire in 1880 when people from remote settlements were called to restore the city. The current church was built in 1930. The cross taken off during the Soviet rule was placed back in 1991.
One of the largest churches in Jēkabpils built in 1783 during the reign of Duchy of Courland. Church is a national historical monument. Currently being restored by the Orthodox congregation from donations.
Beautiful wooden building is a National Cultural Monument and one of the oldest Old Believers’ churches in Latvia, built in 1888, renovated and rebuilt in 1978.
Construction was commenced in 1769 and the church was consecrated on 15th December 1807. It features an artifact of national significance – the double-manual organ built by the renowned master Mārtiņš Krēsliņš in 1885.
The mid-19th century church which was restored in 1933 attracts attention with its 14 m high belfry, the sounds of the 272 kg bell, the benches dating from 1907, the sound of the new organ, the statue of Our Lady of Fatima carried over from Portugal.
The current Old Town square was formed in early 20th century. It was rebuilt to its current guise in 2010. Symbol of the city – the lynx greets the visitors in the square with the city clock in the centre and the purse, water source and scales pay homage to the marketplace that once was here. Also the story of the city is told by characters from old-day photographs.
The construction of the embankment was commenced in 1981 after the great floods. In the summer of 2011 the embankment was renovated and improved. Now the pedestrian promenade offers pleasant views of the quiet river, the skyline of the city and its reflections in the water.
The first bridge across Daugava was built in 1936. Krustpils and Jēkabpils were connected by a narrow-gauge railway that stretched on to Viesīte and Nereta. The spectacular bridge was destroyed during World War Two. The current bridge was built in 1962. It unified the two cities – Krustpils and Jēkabpils – under one name.
The former district school was built in 1820 in the Classicist style. It adds a majestic touch to the centre of the city with its massive columns. The building currently houses the Jēkabpils College of Agrobusiness.
The houses were built in the 1870s and feature longitudinal construction. As the courtyard is located between two houses, then usually one of the walls (the one facing the neighbour’s courtyard) has no windows.
The building was built in the Russian classicism style and intended for the Jēkabpils district court. The building has had quite a history – it has served as the seat of the Soviet authority, the district council house, technical college dormitory, hospital ward. Now it houses Jēkabpils City Council.
The tunnel (43.04 m) is one of the few parabolic monolithic reinforced concrete structures in Latvia, which was built in the 1930s. The underpass still retains the original cobblestone pavement.
The cultural and entertainment events taking place here draw crowds of thousands from early spring to the very end of summer. The islet is popular with visitors who come to enjoy its unique and peaceful location also on ordinary days. A linden stretches its branches proudly – it is among the largest trees in Latvia. Visitors can create their own postcard of Jēkabpils with attractive outdoor objects located on the islet.